Washington Football Rakes In All Pac-12 Honors

Washington football has nine players honored on All Pac-12 first and second teams.

All Pac-12 First Team

Washington football has six members that have been selected to the All Pac-12 first team! From the offense, linemen Nick Harris, and Kaleb McGary. The definitions of consistency, both linemen were well deserving of the honors. From the defense, Greg Gaines, Ben Burr-Kirven, Byron Murphy, and Taylor Rapp. For Rapp, this is his second straight first-team selection, while Gaines and Burr-Kirven have elevated their status from making second-team last season to first-team this year. Murphy, Burr-Kirven and Rapp will also likely be selected as All-Americans.

For the second straight year, a Husky has also taken home the Pat Tillman Defensive Player of the Year award, last year it was Vita Vea, this year it’s Ben Burr-Kirven! BBK was the obvious choice for the award as the nation’s leading tackler, with four forced fumbles, three fumble recoveries, a sack, and two interceptions to add to his season totals.

All Pac-12 Second Team

Three Huskies were honored on the second team, Myles Gaskin, Myles Bryant and Elijah Molden. Molden was honored as the All-Purpose/Special Teams player. Bryant had an excellent season at nickelback, setting a career high in tackles (55) and finishing third on the team with 3.5 sacks on the season. Molden, who has been buried behind Bryant on the depth chart, finally got a chance to shine this season and did so to the best of his ability and was recognized for it. He had five passes defensed this year, forced one fumble and recovered another.

Then of course, we have Mr. Consistent, Myles Gaskin. Gaskin missed two games this season and still rushed for close to 1,150 yards and 10 touchdowns. If Gaskin didn’t get hurt and played in all 13 games this season, he’s pretty much a shoe-in on the first team.

All Pac-12 Honorable Mention

Jake Browning, Jaylen Johnson, JoJo McIntosh, and Drew Sample were all named as All Pac-12 honorable mentions. These four seniors have all had incredible careers at UW, and being recognized by the Pac-12 is a great way to finish their senior season.

The loss of Browning can’t be understated, but with Jacob Eason right behind him, some Husky fans might move on rather quickly. McIntosh is going to be sorely missed by his teammates, and by Husky fans. The senior safety deserves higher honors than an honorable mention, but these voters don’t take heart into account. McIntosh has been the heart and soul of this Husky defense for these past four seasons, and the secondary is going to look very different without him next season.